Circuit Momela 
Trekking Mont Meru en 4 jours / 3 nuits

Jour 1

Départ de l’hôtel à Arusha en voiture en direction du parc national d’ Arusha. A  la porte Momela, présentation de l’équipe (guides, cuisinier et porteurs). La randonnée commence à travers la savane arborée avec de nombreux animaux à voir sur le chemin. Plus loin, la végétation se transforme en forêt vierge et nous apercevrons des singes colobres noirs et blancs. Nous atteindrons le refuge de Miriakamba en fin d’après-midi pour le dîner et la nuit.
Altitude: 2541 m - Durée de randonnée: 4 h
 

Jour 2

Après le petit déjeuner, départ pour une randonnée à travers la forêt vers la crête de l’Elephant. En chemin, vous verrez les lacs Momella, le cratère Ngurdoto et même le Kilimandjaro. Après 2-3 heures de marche, vous atteindrez le refuge de Saddle. Après avoir pris un peu de repos, vous pourrez, si vous le souhaitez, faire une randonnée d’environ 1h30 vers le sommet du Little Meru. Dîner et coucher relativement tôt.
Altitude:3570m Durée de randonnée: 5 h
 

Jour 3 -  Atteinte du sommet

Réveil vers minuit et départ pour l’ascension vers le sommet après un rapide petit-déjeuner. Le chemin est assez pentu et couvert de rochers. Après 5 à 6 heures, vous atteindrez le pic de Ujamaa, le second plus haut pic en Tanzanie (4566m). Arrivé au bord du cratère, vous pourrez admirer le lever du soleil sur les neiges du Kilimandjaro. Prenez le temps de vous reposer et de profiter de la vue puis nous redescendons vers le refuge de Saddle pour un brunch et un peu de repos. Poursuite de la randonnée vers le refuge de Miriakamba pour le dîner et la nuit.
Altitude: 4566m Durée de randonnée: 8 h
 

Jour 4

Après le petit déjeuner, départ, pour la descente de la montagne. Randonnée à travers le parc national d’Arusha où vous pourrez admirer les animaux sauvages. Nous atteindrons la porte Momella juste avant le déjeuner et vous recevrez un certificat attestant de votre participation à l’ascension du Mont Meru. Notre véhicule vous attendra pour vous ramener à votre hôtel à Arusha.
Durée de randonnée:3-4 hours


Autres routes pour le mont Meru:
Trekking Mont Meru en 3 jours/ 2 nuits

Programmes
 
Les safaris avec Active Tanzania
 
Alpinisme
 
Séjours à Zanzibar
 
Séjours combinés
 
Les excursions autour de la vie locale
 
 
Petit Futé

activetanzania

Momela Route
Trekking Mount Meru in 4 days / 3 nights


Day 1
Depart from your Arusha hotel by car for Arusha National Park. At the Momela Gate, we will introduce you to your guides, the cook and the porters. Your trek starts through the wooded savannah with abundant wildlife along the way. As you continue hiking, the landscape changes into rain forest while the black and-white Colobus monkeys will be accompanying you. In the late afternoon you will reach the Miriakamba Hut for dinner and overnight there.
Altitude: 2.541m
Hiking time: 4 hours

Day 2
After breakfast you start hiking through a forest up the elephant ridge. On your way, you will enjoy the spectacular views of Momella lakes, Ngurdoto crater and even Mt. Kilimanjaro. After 2-3 hours you will reach the Saddle Hut. After a short break for resting, there is an option of a round trip hike of 1 1/2 hours to the summit of the Little Meru. Dinner and early sleep in the Saddle hut.
Altitude: 3.570m
Hiking time: 5 hours

Summit Day 3
Your guide will wake you up around midnight and after a snack you may start your ascent to the summit. The trail is steep and rocky. After 5-6 hours you will have reached the Ujamaa Peak, the second highest peak in Tanzania at 4.566m. Standing at the crater rim, you will be rewarded by the breathtaking view of the ash cone of the crater and the surrounding view with the beautiful colors of the sunrise all the way to the snow peak of Kilimanjaro. After spending enough time enjoying your achievement, you start descending down to the Saddle hut for brunch and some rest. You will continue walking down to Miriakamba Hut for dinner and overnight there.
Altitude: 4.566m
Hiking time: 8 hours

Day 4
After breakfast, you start for the final descent of the mountain. You continue walking through Arusha National Park admiring the wildlife on the way. Just before noon you reach Momella gate where you will be rewarded with a certificate attesting your success at climbing Mount Meru. Our car will be waiting for you to bring you back to the comforts of the hotel in Arusha.
Hiking time: 3-4 hours


Other routes to Ujamaa Peak:
Trekking Mount Meru in 3 days - 2 nights

Programs
 
Safari Itineraries
 
Mountain Climbing Itineraries
 
Zanzibar Holidays
 
Combined Itineraries
 
Life itineraries
 
 
Petit Futé